Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

The Newest Hall of Famers

Every year, a handful of legendary figures from motor racing are inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C. Here is a look at this year’s five prestigious inductees.

February 25, 2014
The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register


Flock earned 39 victories throughout his

career and was a two-time NASCAR premier

Article Photos

Tim Flock
Photo Courtesy of NASCAR

series champion, the first title coming in

1952. His most impressive season came in

1955, when he posted 18 wins, 32 top-fives

and 18 poles in 39 races. Flock's 18-wins in a

single season stood as a record until

Richard Petty's 27 in 1967.


Before the formation of NASCAR Nationwide

series, Ingram won three consecutive

championships (1972-74) within the Late Model

Sportsman Division, as well as the inaugural title

of the Busch Series. He went on to earn another

title and 31 victories in the Busch Series.


The chief engine builder at Petty Enterprises,

Maurice Petty joins older brother Richard, father

Lee and cousin Dale Inman in the hall.

Nicknamed "Chief," Petty was a behind-thescenes

catalyst in propelling Richard Petty to a

majority of his record 200 NASCAR victories, plus

his seven NASCAR premier series championships

and seven Daytona 500 victories.


Jarrett posted a

remarkable career

comprised of three Daytona

500 wins and two Brickyard

400 at Indianapolis Motor

Speedway victories. His 32

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

victories 21st all-time

were complemented by his

1999 series title. Dale joins

his father, Ned, in the hall,

as the duo becomes only the

third father-son pair to be

inducted (the others being

Bill France Sr. and Bill France

Jr., along with Lee and

Richard Petty).


Glenn Roberts is hailed

by many as stock car

racing's first superstar.

During his career he often

came up big in the biggest

events, winning the Daytona

500 in 1962 and the

Southern 500 in 1958 and

'63. Overall, he won seven

races at Daytona

International Speedway,

starting with the Firecracker

250 in the summer of 1959

the year the speedway


I am looking for: