Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Fifteen Join Leadership Wheeling Program in 2013

May 21, 2013
The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

Fifteen people set out in January to become more involved in the local community by participating in Leadership Wheeling 2013.

The program held its introductory meeting at the Ohio Valley Medical Center Nurses' Residence. It is sponsored by the Wheeling Area Chamber of Commerce.

Chamber President Terry Sterling noted Leadership Wheeling started in 1987. Since that time, he said, more than 600 individuals have taken part.

Article Photos

Members of the 2013 Leadership Wheeling class are, from left front, Mark Maguire, Sherry Grimm, Susan Nolte, Amanda Cummings, Lindsey Davis, Deborah Roxby and Mary Coffman. Back row from left are Josh Contraguerro, Samantha Winter, Allison O’Konski, Brian Breyer, Martin Galloway and David DeFranco. Not pictured are Theresa O’Brien and Alicen Railing.

Photo by Art Limann

Chamber board Chairwoman Erikka Storch told the group, "This is a fantastic opportunity."

The class graduated earlier this month during a luncheon at River City in downtown Wheeling.

Leadership Wheeling brings together individuals with diverse backgrounds and experiences from all sectors of the Wheeling Metropolitan Area. Participants are selected through an application process.

Sessions included a history of the Ohio Valley, leadership training, education, culture, leisure and the arts, local government affairs, entrepreneurial achievement, the legal system, media, health care, financial planning, local economic development and state government and community development.

The 2013 Leadership Wheeling roster:

Susan Nolte, Ohio County Schools; Allison O'Konski, City of Wheeling; Mark Maguire, WesBanco; Deborah Roxby, WesBanco; Brian Breyer, Russell Nesbitt Services; Sherry Grimm, Ziegenfelder Company; Amanda Cummings, Wheeling Health Right; Martin Galloway, Oglebay Resort & Conference Center; Theresa O'Brien, Oglebay Resort & Conference Center; David DeFranco, Oglebay Resort & Conference Center; Mary Coffman, Oglebay Institute; Lindsey Davis, Oglebay Institute; Alicen Railing, Wheeling Chamber of Commerce; Josh Contraguerro, Panhandle Cleaning & Restoration; Samantha Winter, Bordas & Bordas; Peter Riesbeck, Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley; Brenda Mason, Highmark WV.

I am looking for: