Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

TENNIS: Cambridge Boys Jump To Lead

Morgantown beats Brooke in doubles

April 24, 2013
The Intelligencer / Wheeling News-Register

WEST LIBERTY - The OVAC Tennis Championships featured boys' doubles Tuesday at West Liberty University under sunny skies and warm temperatures.

Cambridge finished the first day of competition with champions in Nos. 1 and 2 doubles. The top-seeded tandem of Cody and Connor Engstrom earned its seeded title by capturing the final against Abe Valenzuela and Sven Wermuth of University High 8-6.

Cambridge's No. 2 tandem of Aaron Ruby and Kamden Payton, were unseeded and upset two seeds in a row to get to the final against second-seeded Grant Tebay and Juan Cardenas from Parkersburg South. Ruby and Payton won the final by a 8-6 score.

The No. 3 doubles position had seeded teams featuring Morgantown's Andrew McQuain and Iain McKay, playing the Brooke tandem of Chris Beaman and Austin Barnhart. Morgantown won the final by a score of 8-4.

The team scoring at the end of the first day of boys' competition has Cambridge in the lead with 10 points, followed by Morgantown and Parkersburg South with six points apiece.

Brooke and University have five points, Wheeling Central and Wheeling Park scored three points each. Weirton Madonna has two points and East Liverpool, Indian Creek, John Marshall, Linsly, and Weir High, all have one point.

Fact Box

Boys' Doubles

No. 1

Cod.Engstrom-Con.Engstrom (Camb) d. Valenzuela, Wermuth (Univ), 8-6.

No. 2

Ruby-Payton (Camb) d. Tebay-Cardenas (PS), 8-6

No. 3

McQuain-McKay (Motown) d. Beaman-Barnhart (Brk), 8-4.

The boys' OVAC Championships will conclude Thursday at West Liberty with singles competition beginning at 8:30 a.m.

The girls' singles competition will be played this morning beginning at 8:30 a.m. at West Liberty University or the Wheeling Park Bubble, depending on weather conditions. OVAC Tennis Championships will be determined in 1A-4A (small school) and 5A (big school) team winners as well as individual awards for singles and doubles. An special overall banner will be awarded to the team achieving the most points in both divisions.

I am looking for: